Pennsylvania Family Law and Divorce
Lisa Marie Vari & Associates, P.C.

First Time DUI Penalties in PA

In a Pennsylvania DUI case, there can be very severe penalties associated with a conviction. These penalties can range from fines, to suspension of a license, to jail time. There are three categories of impairment under PA DUI law: General, High, and Highest. Each of these categories is defined as having a certain BAC level, and each category carries different penalties.

General Impairment - Under a general impairment DUI in PA, the driver has a BAC of .08 to .099. For a first-time offender, there is no jail time associated with this level, however, there may be a probation period of up to 6 months. There could be a $300 fine imposed in this category. Also, the offender will probably have to attend a driver's safety class.

High - Under this category in Pennsylvania, the driver is found to be operating a vehicle with a BAC of .1 to .159. Here, a fist time offender faces a one year license suspension. Jail time for this offense can range from 2 days to 6 months. The fine associated with this level of DUI for a first time offender could be between $500 and $5,000.

Highest - The highest category of DUI offenses in PA is reserved for anyone driving with a BAC of .16 and higher. Again, a first time offender faces a license suspension of 12 months. Jail time can be anywhere between 3 days and 6 months. A fine from $1,000 to $5,000 is possible for this level of DUI.

A conviction under any level of DUI offenses will be listed on a person's driving record with PennDOT. Penalties for additional DUI offenses are even more severe. For more information on Pennsylvania DUI defense, contact our experienced PA DUI Lawyers today. 

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information